Flexi Rods Set and Braidout Results

I know I promised to put up pictures for the result from the flexi rods and state how my hair reacted to the hair mishap and reconditioning process, and I didn’t do so. I apologise for that. It’s been an insanely crazy two weeks, although that still doesn’t excuse it :(.

IMG_20140519_095531I did save the pictures though so that’s a plus. *Yay! I rocked my flexi rods set for a week, and then last Saturday, I did conrows, rolled the tips in permrods, loosened them, and rocked an awesome braidout throughout the week. Talk about awesome \dancing/. I’m really getting the hang of this whole working my hair myself thing :).

So, check out the pictures:

1st day hair. The curls were super soft and defined :).
1st day hair. The curls were super soft and defined :).
The back of the hair. Also looking gorgeous :).
The back of the hair. Also looking gorgeous :).
2nd Day hair. I put it up in a front ponytail.
2nd Day hair. I put it up in a front ponytail.
Back of the hair. In a side note, I am really not a fan of shirts :(.
Back of the hair. In a side note, I am really not a fan of shirts :(.
Day 3. Still rocking the curls
Day 3. Still rocking the curls
Day 4 hair. Curls still in tact.
Day 4 hair. Curls still in tact.
5th day hair. Put it in a side front ponytail. As you can see, the curls are still in place.
5th day hair. Put it in a side front ponytail. As you can see, the curls are still in place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what have I learned from my flexi rods adventure? They rock, and the curls last for a very long ass time. I had to comb them out to do my conrows for the braidouts I wanted. I do think that the curls lasted for so long because of the fact that I used the curls whipped cream and Ecostyler Gel for hold before putting in the flexi rods. Of course Giovanni Direct Leave In conditioner was my conditioner of choice :). If you want to get any of these products, just visit Olori They deliver all over Nigeria for a price and they do have a wide range of products for you to choose from which I’m fairly certain you would love :D.

IMG_20140524_224542Anyway, I used all three products again when I was putting in these conrows.  I did kind of a three-step all back (This is the first time I did an actual conrow, and I was so excited :D. Like I said earlier, the entirety of my hair expertise was limited to putting my hair in Calabar braids. Now I’m learning so much and putting it all in action, and it’s brilliant :). Anyway, I did the conrows and wrapped the ends of the hair in permrods which I also got from Olori. Of course I sprayed the hair with water and made it slightly damp before weaving to ensure that I got the best definition. Next morning? Voila:

Gorgeous braidout
Gorgeous braidout

I got this awesome looking braidout. Gorgeous isn’t it ;).

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_20140526_094647So that was the hair I rocked all through last Monday to Friday night. When I loosened it, I discovered that the dryness I experienced from leaving the ACV in my hair for so long still left a bit of its calling card in my hair. Spent over 2 hours detangling and I still lost quite a lot of hair. Would have taken a picture to show you guys but I forgot :(. So my hair was badly tangled, that and the still somewhat dry roots in some parts and my lack of patience detangling, bit me in the ass. Although, I think my hair doesn’t like damp or wet detangling. Why do I know this? Because I tried detangling a small section of the back of my hair (that is way shorter than the rest and left the ponytail my hair was in on Friday) whilst dry and the detangling went smoothly, with no hair loss whatsoever. Wished I’d remembered that whilst I was detangling yesterday. Would have tried detangling my hair dry. Anyway, better late than never. Next washday, I shall try experimenting detangling my hair dry and will see how much better it is. If my hair likes dry detangling, then dry detangling is the way I will go :).

Anyway, after washing my hair, I put it in mini twists (I think there are about 40-50 twists in all) which took me about 3 hours to do. Will rock the twists like that for at least a week and a half, then will loosen it to get twists out and rock those till my next wash day, which will be in the next 2-3 weeks :). See? I’m getting my regime down part. Love this journey :D.

Leave a Reply

